The election process for the 2019 Stirling Community Council elections is officially underway
People putting their hands in

Those looking to stand for their community to ensure it plays a role in the most local level of democracy available in Scotland can do so now, by downloading a nomination form from the Stirling Council website.

Forms can also be uplifted from Stirling Council’s main office at Old Viewforth, 14-20 Pitt Terrace, FK8 2ET.

Last year, 30 Community Councils successfully formed or reformed across Stirling, with seven going to a ballot vote, such was the overwhelming response from those wishing to stand for election.

There were other areas, however, where insufficient nominations were submitted, resulting in 12 Community Councils failing to form.

Those areas now have a second chance to put forward representation, as the election process begins again today (Monday, 28 January).

Areas yet to form are - 

  • Balquhidder, Lochearnhead & Strathyre
  • Buchanan
  • Drymen
  • Hillpark & Milton
  • Killin
  • King’s Park
  • Kippen
  • Plean
  • Riverside
  • Thornhill & Blairdrummond
  • Throsk
  • Torbrex

Those wishing to stand are encouraged to submit their nomination forms early, to ensure information can be processed promptly. 

Full details, including the timetable for elections, Community Council boundaries and last year’s results are available online.

Please note that some Community Council Boundaries have changed following the recent Review of Community Councils so please check your area.